Home » Annual Conference 2019 » Past Conferences » Diversity Award 2017

GIA Annual Conference

Share this:

2017 Diversity Award

The winner of the 2017 GIA Diversity Award is the Tufts Health Plan Foundation. Jackie Jenkins-Scott, a member of the board of directors of Tufts Health Plan Foundation and the president of Wheelock College, accepted the award on behalf of the Foundation and its grantees.

In presenting the award at GIA's 35th anniversary annual conference in Boston, Diversity Award Committee member Therese Ellery, Senior Program Officer at the Rose Community Foundation, said, in part: 

The Tufts Health Plan Foundation’s mission is to improve the health and wellness of the diverse communities it serves.

Diversity and inclusion are embedded in all of the Tufts Health Plan Foundation’s grantmaking. The Foundation prioritizes investments in underserved communities in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island, and in older adults at risk economically and socially.

And while this award recognizes the Foundation generally, it especially recognizes the work of the Foundation’s grantees.  

Read the full text of the citation in this press release.

GIA established the Diversity Award in 2003 to recognize national, regional, and local individuals, programs, and organizations that embrace diversity as a fundamental element in all levels of their work in aging. 

Award Nomination Criteria

Nonprofit organizations (receiving funding from a foundation or whose funding sources include foundation(s)), individual grantmakers, or foundations working effectively with a diverse aging population are eligible for consideration.

GIA believes that diversity encompasses, but is not limited to, age, gender, race, national origin, religious beliefs, physical abilities and characteristics, sexual orientation, economic circumstances and lifestyle, or gender expression.

Self-nominations are welcome!

GIA Diversity Award Committee

Therese Ellery
Rose Community Foundation, CO

Marcus Escobed
The John A. Hartford Foundation, NY 

Jolene Fassbinder
Archstone Foundation, CA

Bonita Tindley
Agua Fund, Washington, DC 

Previous GIA Diversity Award winners

2016   St. Barnabas Senior Services
2015  Center for Medicare Advocacy
2014  Rose Community Foundation
2013 The Atlantic Philanthropies
2012 Pueblo of Zuni and Jewish Family Service of New Mexico
2011 Services and Advocacy for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Elders (SAGE)
2010 The Retirement Research Foundation
2009 Coalition of Limited English Speaking Elderly (CLESE)
2008 George W. Davis, PhD, Executive Director, Bayview Hunters Point Multipurpose Senior Services, Inc.
2007 Jennie Chin Hansen, RN, MSN, FAAN, AARP President and UCSF Center for the Health Professions Senior Fellow
2006 Meyling Eliash-Daneshfar, Manager of Latino Services, Alzheimer’s Association, Los Angeles and a former ASA NVL Partner
2005 Connie Bremner, Executive Director of the Eagle Shield Senior Center, Blackfeet Nation Reservation
2004 Funders for Lesbian and Gay Issues, Affinity Group
2003 American Society on Aging (ASA) New Ventures in Leadership (NVL) Partnership Program

Winners will:

Receive GIA’s Diversity Award at the Grantmakers In Aging  Annual Conference. 
Offer brief acceptance remarks at the event during one of the general sessions.
Participate in the full conference. All expenses (full registration, travel, and lodging) will be paid for a representative of the selected nonprofit or foundation to attend the conference.


Help us pursue our mission and strengthen grantmaking to support the needs and potential of older people.